Thursday Fleursday- (Good) Moody Blues

Happy +10 degrees to all!

The cardinals and robins are going nutso in my backyard.  Now that the snow is melting, I can see chaos everywhere (busted my wrist just in time for fall cleanup last year), but I’m so relieved to see green shoots and critters that I can’t even stay mad. *

I had a great shipment of agapanthus and lisianthus this week, and some blue eringyum- thought it would be a good day to do some blue flower show and tell.

Blue is popular, especially with brides, but it can be tricky to find seasonal blooms that are really blue. (I’m working to expand my knowledge and repertoire obvs- leave me a comment if you know a good blue fleur that I’ve missed!)

Image

Cut agapanthus is usually an import- they are available from Mexico and South America Nov-June.  I was introduced to agapanthus by my Auntie B on a visit to Kew Garden- it will always remind me of that trip.

Image

Eryngium, or sea holly, or ‘those blue thistley things’ is a great, long-lasting filler.  The little leaves and calyxes can go yellow after a while- pull them off and keep on enjoying the blue centres.  As far as I know,eryngium is available year-round as an imported cut flower. I love them for their colour and spikey texture (If you mention your bouquet is going to someone from Scotland, and I can get my hands on this, guess what happens?)

Delphinium is available in the summer as a local cut, and most of the year as an import (it’s biggest and best in season)  It is available in a range of colours from white to pink to purple to BLUE.  I love the tall, spike shape, and the irridescent colouring and little spurs on the individual blooms.  It shows well and lasts a long time in the vase, and you can also get away with it in corsages and crowns.  Check out the difference between the import stems from February and the local stuff I was able to use last June- they’re in the same sized vase:

Image

 

Image

 

 

At the other end of the shape-spectrum are fat, poofy hydrangeas- I use these for mass. It can be tough to visually balance other, smaller flowers with them in the vase- they are definitely showstoppers. Hydrangea is another flower available locally in the summer and as an import pretty much year-round.

Did you know- certain varieties of hydrangea will only bloom green or white, but other varieties range in colour from white, pink, purple, or blue, depending on the PH of the soil?

Image

 

 

And we’re heading into straight up purple territory with these lisianthus, but I couldn’t not show you how HUGE AND AWESOME
they are right now! Also, they are available in a much darker, almost bluish purple. I believe we are at peak season- these babies were grown at Slaman’s greenhouses in Burford, Ontario.  http://slamans.ca/index.php?cID=68

Image

Hope this helps you to better know a flower, and that you get to enjoy the double-digit temperatures and some sunshine this weekend.

Happy Thursday!

* There is ONE critter I can stay mad at.  He says ‘happy Thursday, chumps!’  Siiiigh.

destruction 700px

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Thursday Fleursday- (Good) Moody Blues

  1. Maureen

    Hyacinth…..and don’t forget lavender and lilacs!

Leave a Reply

