Thunderstruck! (weekend wedding report)

work in progress

Lilies are scary, the stuff of rookie nightmares:
They stain. They change shape and size throughout the day. They crush if you look at them the wrong way.
They are sooooo lovely, though. I never used to care for orange lilies, but that intense colour is growing on me. (Diffuse, rainy day light makes everything paler here than in reality)

Must must must tuck them away towards the centre of the bouquet next time, to better protect those fragile petals.

bride

Lessons learned courtesy Brenda and Mike, who got hitched this Saturday.

I kept my eyes on the skies after delivering their order- fortunately, the sun stayed out just past their ceremony time. Then, the giant apocalyptic storm clouds rolled in to town. Hopefully everyone had time for photos before the monsoon-style rains, crashes and bangs.
Such weather dramarama! Suited the tropical-punch theme, it was steamy like a rainforest here in good old K town. A mutual friend did tell me they all said this wedding would be epic…

Ontario-grown Asiatic lilies, freesia, callas, delphinium, and alstroemeria rounded out with Ecuadorian roses, Colombian hypericum, and California greens. I fell in love with Brenda’s peach/coral/aqua/orange/white colour scheme the second she emailed me about her wedding. We planned this all by email and a couple phone calls, by the way- if you can’t meet in person, we can still get beautiful things done!

bridesmaid 2

wrist corsage

flower girl basket 2

I know a few rockstar, still-madly-in-love couples whose wedding days featured thunder and lightning and downpours. Bit of a nailbiter if you’re trying not to get rain on a giant white dress, but maybe a little stormy weather is lucky for love.

You’ll have to come up with your own metaphors here, my dears, I am WIPED.
Coffee time. Again.
Congratulations and many happy years to Brenda and Mike.
xo Happy Monday.

PS. Stuck in your head in 3….2….1…

You’re welcome.

1 Comment

Filed under Wedding

One response to “Thunderstruck! (weekend wedding report)

  1. You’re so funny Jen and your flowers are beautiful as usual! I got married during hurricane season and had the same kind of experience. I love lilies but mainly the asiatic kind that I had in my bouquet.

Leave a Reply

