Light it up

I spent the weekend gardening in between daytime cloudbursts. (Holy Moly am I out of shape!)

The 100 mile bouquet: cherry blossoms and meadow rue from my yard/neighbourhood, birch leaves from Dad's farm.

The 100 mile bouquet: cherry blossoms and meadow rue from my yard/neighbourhood, birch leaves from Dad’s farm.

The King’s Town Players annual Beer Dinner and Season 4 Launch Friday, firepit/drinks/backyard fireworks show with friends Saturday, and Monday’s gazebo build/hot tub party with yet more friends rounded out the evenings pretty nicely. (Holy moly is it great to soak in a hot tub after gardening while out-of-shape…)

I should never take three days off in a row, it totally floors me and takes my head out of the game every time…

No fireworks photos for all y’all, but you could light this one up:

_MG_9330

In fact, I did, at my own wedding 10 years ago. We had the florist fill this hurricane lamp reservoir up with white freesia, orchids, and assorted greens in honour of my Nana; freesia was her favourite flower.

My sister is getting married this summer, and I thought I would try out and photograph good old lampy, to see if she would like me to bring it over for her wedding ceremony. I did it up with locally foraged raspberry and cherry blossom, imported (Colombian?) dianthus-as-moss, and Ontario-grown freesia, chrystanthemum, and alstroemeria:
_MG_9329

Photography by Kingston’s very own David L Slack- he came over to do some product shots as well as portraits in the studio. If you’re in the Kingston area and looking for a friendly, professional photographer and all-around good guy, get yourself over to Dave’s facebook page:

David L Slack Photography_Facebook_20130521-150606

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Day-to-day, Good People, Wedding

Leave a Reply

