Pop up shop

It’s the May 24 long weekend here in Canada, and I’m hoping to take the machete to the jungle (aka my shameful backyard) and get my bbq on.

Still catching up on sleep and sifting through images from last weekend- thought I’d share a few shots of favourite colours and moments from day one in the multipurpose room at Lakeshore school. The students’ projects and artwork made my day and filled my weekend with even more colour (see if you can find the ‘suggestions for sculpture’ poster; it killed me!)

pop up shop day 1

A lovely customer ordered this vase of lilies, roses, freesia and gerberas for her mother in law:

big kahuna

It was missing a little something, so I added willow shoots clipped from the tree in the school parking lot:

big kahuna 2

I loved the combination of Ontario-grown blue delphinium and yellow leucospermum from California:

yellow orange blue

There were some self-guided tours while customers waited for me to wrap their bouquets; all around great guy and faculty member Mr. Spencer also provided some impromptu smart board and video project demos.

I like big butts,and I cannot lie.

I like big butts,and I cannot lie.

After hours he made me the best sandwich ever in the school kitchen, and then while I finished up bouquets for the next day, he treated me to a drum solo… which I begged him to please quit treating me to. Still couldn’t have pulled the caper off without him :)Fortunately, even late in the day, it’s hard to get tired of flowers.
late in the day

Thanks again to everyone who lent a hand, bought a bouquet, brought coffee, or otherwise supported me and my harebrained schemes. This was a great tryout of a pop up shop for busy holidays. Even though I was pretty tired by 7pm Sun when I finally mopped the floor, hit the lights and locked the doors, I really feel like I’ve started to hit my stride with the business.

This weekend brought to you by caffeine.  Check out them baggy eyes, haha

This weekend brought to you by caffeine. Check out them baggy eyes, haha

Bis-bis,

Happy weekend, all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Day-to-day, Holidays

Leave a Reply

