On gardeny roses and pseudo-science…

Thanks again to everyone who retweeted, facebook shared, blog-commented and otherwise spread the word for my giveaway contest last week. Thought it would be a fun way to jump start my sorely-neglected social media life.

I had the pleasure of delivering this hand-tied beauty to Erin last (cold, grey) Tuesday: California myrtle, Ecuadorian Miracle roses, Ontario tulip, iris, alstroemeria, grape ivy, and chrysanthemum.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not gonna lie, folks, the giveaway was at high risk of becoming a keepformyself.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Customers at the flower shop where I used to work usually wanted their roses as bud-like as possible, their tulips only just beginning to show colour. I haven’t worked with flowers in enough places to know if this is strictly an Ontario/North American preference. Some European customers would tell me that back home, flowers were a more common part of everyday life, and open blooms were more desirable.

As a customer, I could see shopping for something not-quite-ripe, hoping for a longer vase life. (Although let me just get on my soapbox here and say that a tight, bullet-shaped rose a. is not so pretty b. may not open or last any longer than any other rose and c. OH MY GOD OPEN BLOWSY GARDENY ROSES OH MY GOD I WANT THEM ALL!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aaand I’m done. For now.

I kept a few of those orange roses and hot pink tulips for myself, and they held their lovely, open shapes for a whole extra week. I had to face facts and put the tulips in the compost this morning, but the roses are still going strong.

PS. I test drive a new variety of rose every few weeks, and I keep slightly-scientific track of leftover flowers, so that I can figure out how the blooms change and develop over time, and how long different flowers tend to last in the vase.

PPS. Stay tuned for more not-terribly-scientific SCIENCE!

Happy Tuesday xo

Leave a comment

Filed under Day-to-day

Leave a Reply

